Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 8th, 2017

The Prophet of Gelugor answers the Press

Mkini Mob: Bagi comment sikit?

SY: You mau comment? You first suck my dick.

Mob: Will you step down?

SY: Who asked that? Come out! I’ll step on you. I’ll shit on you.

Mob: Will you apologize?

SY: Apologize to stupid assholes? Never!

Mob: Do you have a daughter?

SY: What is it to you? You have one? Give her to me… Bodoh! You tahu saya siapa?

*

O! Malaiyoo!


*

Love Jiangshan, you’d love Beauty

西边儿黄河流
来呀来个酒啊
不醉不罢休

West the Yellow River flows
Come, come my Wine
Unless drunk, I shan’t give up

李丽芬: 爱江山更爱美人

道不尽红尘奢恋
诉不完人间恩怨
世世代代都是缘
流着相同的血
喝着相同的水
这条路漫漫又长远
红花当然配绿叶
这一辈子谁来陪
渺渺茫茫来又回
往日情景再浮现
藕虽断了丝还连
轻叹世间事多变迁
爱江山 更爱美人
哪个英雄好汉宁愿孤单
好儿郎 浑身是胆
壮志豪情四海远名扬
人生短短几个秋啊
不醉不罢休
东边儿我的美人哪
西边儿黄河流
来呀来个酒啊
不醉不罢休
愁情烦事别放心头

*

***


*

Waiting on the West shore for Love

降央卓玛 : 西海情歌

自你離開以後,
從此就丟了溫柔,
等待在這雪山路漫長,
聽寒風呼嘯依舊。

一眼望不到邊,
風似刀割我的臉。
等不到西海天際蔚藍,
無言這蒼茫的高原。

還記得你答應過我不會讓我把你找不見,
可你跟隨那南歸的候鳥飛得那麼遠。
愛像風箏斷了線,
拉不住你許下的諾言!
我在苦苦等待雪山之巔溫暖的春天,
等待高原冰雪融化之後歸來的孤雁。
愛再難以續情緣,
回不到我們的從前 ……

*

From the West Sea, a Love Song

Since you left
My spirit, too, leaves.
Waiting by the snow mountain,
The road is long
Chill winds scream, as usual.
I take a look…

There is no end in sight.
Like a knife the wind cuts my face.
Shall I wait till the West Sea turns blue?
Not a word from the highlands.

Do you still remember your promise to me?
That you’d never let me miss you,
Yet you follow the wild geese fly far south.
Now, love feels like a kite on a broken string in flight.
I shan’t hold you to your promise,

Still, I wait, in deep sorrow
For the spring’s warmth to return to these snow mountains;
Wait till the snow melts in the highlands
For the goose to return, alone.
But love finds hard to go on, for
I know, it won’t return to the way we were.

***


*

Jian who is 一万 li away: Wishing Us Forever

Western pop singers don’t recite poetry. But our Chinese singers do.

Below is 但願人長久 [Wishing Us Forever] by Faye Wong 王菲, the lyrics of which are an exact copy of 水调歌头 [Water Melody: A Prelude], the Song era poem by Su Shi 苏轼 (sometimes pen name Su Dongpu, 1037-1101)

Ci 词 — a sort of ‘free verse’ in modern Western form — is so highly stylized it can be sung. Many of today’s Chinese songs, labelled ‘pop’ by ignorant Anglophile idiots and stupid Malaysiakini editors, are actually ci put to music with the original verses often left intact although they are usually re-titled like the one above.

*

但願人長久 / 水调歌头

明月幾時有 把酒問青天
不知天上宮闕 今夕是何年

我欲乘風歸去 唯恐瓊樓玉宇 高處不勝寒
起舞弄清影 何似在人間
轉朱閣 低綺戶 照無眠
不應有恨 何事長向別時圓 (月時圓)
人有悲歡離合 月有陰晴圓缺
此事古難全 但願人長久 千里共嬋娟

[In translation, the last few lines.]

People have their grief and joy, togetherness and separation,
The moon, too, may be dark and clear, waxing and waning
Such as it is since the beginning of time.
But, together, we see the beauty of the moon a thousand miles apart.

***


*

Hurry! For at the Grassland my Love waits….

***

Read Full Post »